Skip to content

LIL’ WAYNE – SHUT UP!

June 13, 2008

An African rapper named Asennai Musye it me with this letter over the beef with Lil Wayne and Al Sharpton. Check out the letter and read the news story if you don’t know about the beef.

Anyways, I know that you get tons of e-mails so I would like to address what I have in mind real quick. I was listening to Lil Wayne’s album and when I got to “Misunderstood” I just shook my head with disgust. Now, I definitely give Wayne his props for all the other issues he addressed but when he got to Al Sharpton, I couldn’t help but think to myself…damn, if this is how we are going to handle our issues, we are DOOMED. Wayne is within his rights to address his thoughts but it is mad silly, counter productive and downright ignorant to go at Al Sharpton the way he did. Of course Al Sharpton is imperfect, but he is out there in the battlefield fighting on behalf of many who are disenfranchised and wronged by the system. Now, here comes Wayne and drops all kinds of disrespectful antics and even went as far as calling Mr. Sharpton “unhuman”. To begin with, let’s be honest…some of what he was saying made no sense. The dude, at least on this track, is so in love with his damn self that he was saying whatever he thought would make him sound “smart”, “different” and even   seem “misunderstood” because, apparently, he thinks he is so different that the rest of the world doesn’t “get” him. Shit, ain’t nothing complicated about dude..we have seen intelligent emcees with complex thoughts and flow since the conception of hip hop. And what exactly is interesting about what dude is saying? Let’s get a grip. The dude is off the chain with the delivery and has a few amazing lines. Plus, he pours his heart out and obviously has passion for what he does. I dig his swagger and music overall. But, he is trying so damn hard to be “different” that he is getting lost in some predictable shyt. You don’t try to be different, you just are! But, never mind that, why would a rapper who pours crazy amount of money on jewelry and is so damn self-centered would go and disrespect someone who is on the battle field fighting for others?  We gotta recognize our heroes, my people. It is so easy to write a song about Katrina and create an illusion that you are an activist standing for the people. Where was Weezy when Mos Def put out a message to all rappers to come and help out with the Gena 6? Where was Weezy when David Banner poured his hard earned money to help Katrina victims?



We already have enough artists crying about the ills of our people. We aint never short of griots, storytellers and such. We are short of people of action..starting with our own damn selves. I am frustrated with these rappers misleading young minds by widening the gap between the older and younger generation. Respect your elders Weezy. And yo I am a big fan of Nas but I am sorry, I am not feeling his whole “I am a renegade” approach. You know what, I will respect you when you start proposing solutions because the people that y’all disrespecting are doing exactly that! It is mad easy to say what doesn’t work, try telling us what works. Better yet, lend your star power to help out with any progressive movements.

Some political elements want to create a divide between the older and younger generation..they want that history of struggle to not be transferred to the young generation. Because that history is so empowering and will breed more activists and agents of change. By doing what Wayne did on Misunderstood, he basically helped them with that scheme. I cringe when I think about how many youngins will echo Wayne’s sentiments and go “yah..fuck Sharpton!” There is an African saying that goes “He who was never at a battle field is like a sharp spear”..so yeah we can all spit some sharp shyt as long as we aint in the battlefield. The older and younger generation needs to come together and figure this all out or else it is going to be the death of us. Period.

let’s wake up!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2008 12:22 pm

    I think this reader has got the right message. I am South Asian and I believe my culture has the same issues, maybe it’s a minority thing. We like to knock each other down while the rest of the world gets ahead and just laughs at us. I say we all unite and work for a better world for all of us.

  2. movementpusher permalink
    June 13, 2008 4:45 pm

    I whole heartedly agree with this brother. We (black people) are too quick to critize our black leader when the fight high profile issues, saying ” they just trying to get something (Money or assimilation with the white race). I challenge every rapper to put some remedies to some of these problems that our commmuinties have into some of these bull$hyt songs to help our black leaders. Since they are soo smart to not have to write some of these bull$hyt lyrics.

  3. June 13, 2008 6:51 pm

    Hmm. Now that’s interesting… I don’t like Al Sharpton for real, but I hear the heart of this letter, and that person is RIGHT ON. It’s not enough to say that you’re a survivor of something and then not give back to the cause. I’m not saying Weezy isn’t doing anything like that because I honestly don’t know. But I haven’t heard anything about it either, and I’m pretty sure that things like that would get huge press. I mean, Plies hit a lady off with some money on the radio and time froze and allhiphop went crazy, so I KNOW that there would be SOMEBODY to report it.

    That being said, I like Wayne as an artist but as far as off the mic he has some issues he needs to address. Add this issue to the list.

    Misunderstood was a hot track though and I understood everything he was saying. And for the most part I understand him. Even the Al Sharpton part. But I understand the letter too, and this letter has more of a point than Weezy F. had on the whole last 8 minutes of his cd.

  4. PHAROTREV permalink
    June 13, 2008 9:08 pm

    VERY PROFOUND WORDS. THIS LETTER WAS ON THE MONEY. IM ALSO TIRED OF THESE ARTIST WIDENING THE GAP. WE SHOULD EMBRACE ANYBODY WILLING TO STAND UP FOR ANY RIGHTEOUS CAUSE. I THINK WAYNE IS JUST TRYING TO BE RELEVANT WITH THIS BULL SHIT ABOUT AL SHARPTON, AND TO BE CANDID I DIG HIS STYLE BUT THAT ALBUM DID NOTHING FOR ME. WAYNE SPIT BETTER VERSUS ON HIS MIX TAPES AND FEATURES IF YOU ASK ME. HIS ABILITY TO ENLIGHTEN THE LISTNER OR EVEN SHOW SOME TYPE OF UNIQUE DELIVERY WAS MISSING. I CAN RECALL LISTENING TO TUPAC, NAS, JAY, KWELI, T.I ETC. AND BE COMPLETELY IN A TRANCE FROM THE MUSIC. THE LYRICS AND THE CONCEPT WOULD LITERALLY CAPTURE YOU AND HAVE YOU IN AWE…WAYNE….NAH…. DIDNT FEEL THAT. HE NEEDS TO GO BACK TO THE DRAWING BOARD AND TRY TO BE A LITTLE MORE HUMBLE. YOU CANT SPIT FREESTYLE TYPE VERSUS ON AN ALBUM, IT JUST DOESNT FEEL RIGHT. BUT WHATEVER ITS JUST MY OPINION, I LOVE MY BLACK PEOPLE AND HES SUCCESSFUL SO IM NOT MAD AT HIM. I JUST HOPE WE COULD WAKE UP AND START DELIVERING MESSAGES THAT WOULD PROPEL US FORWARD AS A CULTURE INSTEAD OF LEAVING US IN THIS CYCLE OF HOPLESSNESS. DRUGS, GUNS BLAH BLAH WE HEARD ALL THAT SHIT ALREADY, BUT THE MORE WE TALK ABOUT IT AND THROW IT IN OUR VERSUS, IS THE MORE WE ADVOCATE IT PERIOD! IF YOU REALLY FROM THE HOOD, ANYBODY WOULD TELL YOU WHEN YOU SEE SOMEBODY GET THEIR HEAD BUST OR YOU SEE A CRACKHEAD THE SHIT BRINGS YOU DOWN A LITTLE BIT. ALSO JUST SEEING YOUR OWN PEOPLE GROW OLD AND HAVE NO SENSE, OR EDUCATION LETS YOU KNOW WE NEED THESE SAME IDIOT HOLLERING ABOUT CHANGE ON THEIR TRACK TO GET UP AND SHOW ACTION.TRUE INDEED IT TAKES MORE THEN ONE BUT THERE ARE SO MANY DICK RIDERS THAT IM SURE IF AN ARTIST WERE TO USE THEIR “STAR POWER” IT COULD ACTUALLY TRIGGER SOME POSITIVE SHIT. ANYWAY ITS MY OPINION THE SHIT IS REALLY SAD1 ONE1

  5. Mos High permalink
    June 13, 2008 11:39 pm

    Greetings, Illseed. Ah it’s nice to know there is still some sain brothers out there. I was reading the comments section of the rumors section for Lil Wayne’s comments. To see all of my brothers (and possibly others) just burning Sharpton to the ground, Jah knows it hurt my heart. People wasting there energy on super negative comments.. Im sure many couldnt even speak on the good things Sharpton has done. No man is perfect. Is Lil Wayne someone listen to? Everyone is with fault, 100 people off the bat suporting these negative comments? For all we know he could of being drinking that suzurp (or whatever) and doing some of that white ish. My people have to wake up.
    RED BLACK GREEN FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. boyo permalink
    June 15, 2008 1:06 am

    Man, Al Sharpton shut down NYC AND went to jail just last month after the Shaun Bell verdict came down.

    http://wcbstv.com/topstories/sean.bell.protests.2.717705.html

    Where was Lil’ Wayne, then?

    http://nahright.com/news/2008/05/08/lil-wayne-ft-short-dawg-me-and-my-drank/

    … I guess.

  7. I AM permalink
    June 19, 2008 8:29 pm

    Buck Lil Wayne! who the hell takes this guy serious… he made a song named lollipop

  8. June 27, 2008 6:54 pm

    HEY WHO EVER WROTE THIS B.S IS SO DUMB!!!! NOW I ON THE OTHER HAND AGREE WITH LIL WAYNE AND I THINK HE DID THE RIGHT THING BECAUSE HE WANTED AL SHARPTON TO KNOW ONE THING AND ONE THING ONLY AND THAT IS THAT MR. SHARPTON DOESNT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT LIL WAYNE AND WHAT HES BEEN THROUGH SO HOW IN THE HELL IS HE GONE TELL HIM THAT HE CANT SAY WORDS THAT THEYWERE RAISED UP ON I PERSONALLY THINK WE AS PEOPLE COULD SAY WHATEVER THE FUCK WE WANT SO I DONT CARE ABOUT SHIT U SAYIN

Trackbacks

  1. Rumors : Hip-Hop Rumors: Russell Got Robbed? Jay-Z Loses $150 Million?Blu Cantrell Poses Nude!

Leave a comment