Skip to content

Andre 3000 Says No To Kid Cudi, Snoop And Kanye Say Yes

May 5, 2009

By Houston Williams

Kid Cudi prepares to release he debut, but the rapper admitted in a recent blog post that he didn’t get all the acts he targeted.

“I only have three features for my album, which is my big homie Snoop, Kanye [West] and Common. The other 2 artists I asked so far to be on my album: Lily Allen and Andre 3000, have declined my request for a collab.”

The Cleveland native said the news made him rethink his album goals and what he wanted to achieve as an artist. “It made me realize though, do I really wanna go in on features? Sure I like these artists but this first album needs to be about what I can do,” he said. “I feel like a lot of people still think it’s a game so I will forever feel like I have something to prove.”

Even though he didn’t connect with Andre 300 or Lily Allen, he said he’ll continue to make music that he hopes will resonate with the audience. “There are a ton of artists I want to work with because, at the end of the day, I’m just a dude who likes to create music. So…I will do another album with all new songs, all collabs with some of the best and most creative artists in music,” he stated.

Jokingly, he said he might direct a new album title to his detractors. “Fyi. Thinking about changing the title of my debut album to “shut the f**k up,” because that’s what all the haters will need to be doing when it drops.”

The formal title to his album is Man on the Moon: The Guardians and is tentatively set for release in August.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

